May 16th, 2010

Funki Porcini – on

Album: On
Artist : Funki Porcini
Genre: Electronic
Style: Downtempo
Label: Ninja Tune
Released: 2010


01. moog river
02. this ain’t the way to live
03. belisha beacon
04. undermud
05. on an inconsequential afternoon
06. the 3rd man
07. bright little things
08. robert crumb’s natural gait
09. the magic hands of fernando del rey
10. waking up

Funki Porcini ‘On’ Album Mini-Mix by Ninja Tune

October 28th, 2009

Blockhead – The Music Scene – out november 2nd, 2009

New York hip hop producer Tony Simon aka Blockhead returns with his third and best instrumental album for Ninja Tune.

Blockhead has long made beautiful, emotive music based around the hip
hop template, but on “The Music Scene” he elevates his craft to another
level. Tony puts it down to the use of Ableton, which means that rather
than working from “one basic beat and building off it” (the standard
hip hop model), he has begun stringing together multiple beats and
weaving them together into increasingly complex, surprising and
satisfying pieces of music. As he himself puts it, “I made each song a
little more of a musical journey than anything I have ever done

Blockhead’s ambition to “tell stories without words” is evident from
opener “It’s Raining Clouds” onwards. The tune starts off as classic
downtempo and ends up almost drum and bass, the music having changed
and fallen away, echoing back through itself and feeding into previous
themes at least three times. It’s an epic in an album of epics.

At the heart of the record is the remarkable “The Daily Routine” – an
exploration of drug addiction (based around a found recording of drug
addicts arguing), Blockhead says “it’s pretty much the creepiest song
I’ve ever made.” “Four Walls,” meanwhile aims a musical broadside at
the current vogue for autotune. “Which One Of You Jerks Drank My Arnold
Palmer” is huge ambient space rock hip hop. “The Prettiest Seaslug” is
Bahia-beat on opium. “Tricky Turtle” begins as afro-blaxpoitation,
turns into a voodoo orgy and ends somewherte in the Middle East.
“Farewell Spaceman” starts off sounding like an outtake from
“Bewitched” and ends as an ecstatic, chugging flight off into the

While “The Music Scene” represents a development in Blockhead’s work,
he still holds true to his basic beliefs about music and rhythm. When
not working on his new album he has been providing production for Aesop
Rock, DJ Signify, Joanna Erdos and many more, plus remixes for Yameen
and Chin Chin, amonst others. Whereas the music scene is “a bastardized
version of something that was already watered down,” Blockhead’s “The
Music Scene,” like his career as a whole, is “the opposite of that.” By
re-working, chopping and melding samples, by blending them together,
Blockhead restores rather than dilutes their purity.

Album: The Music Scene

Artist : Blockhead

Genre: Electronic

Label: Ninja Tune

Released: 02 Nov 2009


01 It’s Raining Clouds
02 The Music Scene
03 Only Sequences Change
04 Which One Of You Kerks Stole My Arnold Palmer
05 Attack The Doctor
06 The Prettiest Sea Slug
07 The Daily Routine
08 Tricky Turtle
09 Four Walls
10 Pity Party
11 Hell Camp
12 Farewell Spaceman

October 13th, 2009

Bonobo – Between The Lines / Recurring (Remixes)

Album: Between The Lines / Recurring (Remixes)

Artist : Bonobo

Genre: Electronic, Jazz

Style: Soul-Jazz,

Label:  Ninja Tune

Released: 23 Mar 09




A Between The Lines (Nostalgia 77 Remix)      6:16
B Recurring (Mice Parade Remix)     4:10


June 23rd, 2009

Blockhead – Music By Cavelight

Album: Music By Cavelight

Artist :  Blockhead

Genre: Electronic

Style:  Downtempo
Label: Ninja Tune

Released: 2004


1. Insomniac Olympics
2. Carnivores Unite
3. You’ve Got Malestrom
4. Sunday Seance
5. A Better Place
6. Road Rage Breakdown
7. Triptych Part One
8. Triptych Part Two
9. Triptych Part Three
10. Jet Son
11. Breathe and Start
12. Music by Cavelight

June 6th, 2009

Fink – Sort Of Revolution

Album: Sort Of Revolution

Artist :  Fink

Style:  Folk

Label: Ninja Tune

Released: Mar 2009



1 Sort of Revolution 6:32
2 Move on Me 3:39
3 Six Weeks 3:03
4 Nothing Is Ever Finished 4:08
5 See It All 5:14
6 Q & A 6:16
7 If I Had a Million 4:44
8 Pigtails 3:52
9 Maker 5:36
10 Walking in the Sun 3:18

April 23rd, 2009

Yppah – They Know What Ghost Know (2009)

Album: They Know What Ghost Know

Artist : Yppah

Genre: Electronic

Label:Ninja Tune

Released:  2009-04-28


01 Son Saves The Rest
02 Gumball Machine Weekend
03 Playing With Fireworks
04 Shutter Speed
05 The Moon Scene 7
06 They Know What Ghost Know
07 City Glow
08 Sun Flower Sun Kissed
09 The Tingling
10 Bobbie Joe Wilson
11 A Parking Lot Carnival
12 Southern Sky Tells

© 2009-2021 NICOONMARS All images are copyrighted by their respective authors. -- Copyright notice by Blog Copyright